One Piece is Better Than Naruto?


Actually I come across this question while I’m trying to find out what people think about these two great mangas. I read most of the opinion and agree and disagree on some. Want to drop my own two cent on this matter on that thread but too lazy to make an account and I’m afraid my two cent will be a million, so lets just put it here since it was so lonely.

A little bit warning! Everything you read below will be all my personal opinion, preference and statement and since adducing opinion is one of the basic human rights (I think), please free to state otherwise but please keep every discussion (If there’s any) in civil and polite manner.  Oh one more thing, I’m not a native English speaker so please pardon if you happen to find misspelled words or wrong grammar. Thank you🙂

Okay, first of all, for your information, I read both One Piece and Naruto, from the start till the recent (for Naruto, it’s the end) I watch the anime for both and skip filler. I’ll just talk about the manga though since it was the ultimate canon. Both are great manga but to me One Piece is the best.

So, like I said, I write this after I read some people’s opinion about One Piece and Naruto and one of them being “Naruto has more good and deep stories” (something like that). Honestly it surprised me when I read this kind of comment, I was like

tumblr_inline_ndkdaqukWN1sliqdi

 

I must have a say in this, since the story telling/plot is my top reason for putting One Piece above any manga. I think people who stated Naruto has a lot more deep story/plot than One Piece, definitely didn’t/never follow/read One Piece as a whole. And if it is so, that kind of judgmental statement isn’t right, right?  They probably just skipping things in manga or watch the anime partly. Because I think people who follow One Piece from the star until now will know best how amazing Oda built its plot. An example for me, Dragon, Luffy’s father. We first met him in Logue Town, where Luffy first set off. I seriously thought he was a bad guy eventhough he help Luffy. And following One Piece after that, I actually almost forgot that that guy was exist then Oda reveal that he was actually Lufffy’s father at the end of Water Seven saga, which is after a lot of chapters and other developments. One more example is Robin. When the Arabasta Arc ended, never cross my mind that Robin could be one of the Straw Hat crew. Then come her flashback stories that connected to ultimate weapon any many other.

I love how Oda delivers it because it doesn’t have this kind of a thrown-out-off-nowhere-facts feels to it not like a lot of fact revealed on Naruto (The recent world war? anyone?). In One Piece, when there was a big issue revealed, mostly it was mentioned before, way way chapters before. It kinda make me “Oh, so that’s how it is?” and in Naruto, most of the time it made me goes “Eh, why it suddenly comes to this?”

As of now, One Piece has reach 769 chapters and there’s still a lot more mystery un revealed (The ‘D’, World Government, bad marines goal, the destructive weapon, Roger past, One Piece treasure, etc) I put my trust in Oda he would never pass any of this matter without full epic/step by step explanation. And this is my ultimate reason why I chose One Piece as my no 1 favorite. When you read the synopsis or only the first half of the manga, you’ll be like, “Oh, it just the usual adventure manga with predictable arc (help people, defeat the annoying bad guy etc) but like I said, if you want to give a fair judgment, read it as whole, from the start to recent one. I don’t know, I dare you to do that and say One Piece plot is suck etc. I only say this because I also read Naruto (as a whole, from start till end).

I honestly love Naruto before shipudden and first half of shippuden (I think I got fed up when the ‘hatred’ matter got the spotlight. I like Naruto as much as I like Luffy. I take the pre shippuden Naruto as role model. I mean, I love his whole attitude of being a talentless boy work hard to be acknowledge. How he never give up and how he stand on his Ninja way etc. I even made the ost. as my life ost, help me a lot during my high school. I really look up to him at that time but after shippuden, when he so focus on ‘bring back Sasuke no matter what’ (I know, to Naruto, cannot save your friend means unqualified to be Hokage) but, I don’t know how or why, the feeling isn’t the same anymore, I don’t know what to look up anymore (this just personal opinion though).

as for One Piece and Luffy, until now the feeling never change and the interest is always there. Yes, One Piece is more arc-ly and the end is predictable (Luffy owns the big boss) if you read it half-ly, but are’n all the main heroes owned the big boss? and if you read all of the arc wholly, One Piece arc actually always connected, it is devised to reveal the secret little by little (Gold Roger, the ultimate weapon, One Piece etc) and in my opinion they were all led to the big war (Marine vs Pirates/world government) and at the end probably One Piece treasure.

in Naruto, I always can see how he’ll become hokage, how he can make everyone around him inspire with his way of Ninja. For Luffy, I know he’ll become a pirate king in awesome way. Make his name and crew known island by island, gather his crew and gain friends and enemy arc by arc with power, word, and attitude. We can’t compare them in this area though since they are a very different story line. But since Naruto series has met it’s end, I can say, the journey is not as awesome as I imagine. If only all the reason/enemy for Naruto last big war, somehow reveal little by little in any way possible in earlier chap and not as rushed as it is now, I probably won’t be this dissaponted or if Kishimoto sensei could make some little arc that shows Naruto is an awesome Hokage, than just a peaceful epilog. But all in all these just an opinion.

for characterization too. for me, One Piece is still in Upper hand in this. Honestly, manga with a lot of character and new one thrown here and there, is not to my taste. I totally made exception for One Piece. I don’t know how to do it, One Piece has a lot more character than Naruto (For me) and threw a lot more new characters (in every arc) but I never feels that the manga is full of character and throw in out of nowhere just like *cough* Bleach *cough* Naruto *cough*. Yes, there’s probably dozens of character in every arc in One Piece but somehow some of them probably have connection from the past arc. Take Arlong in the early chap. We hear a little about the fishman island there. Later on we have Tom in Water Seven and introduced with Jinbei. Then comes the fishman Island and Oda didn’t forget to connect the incident in fishman island with arlong which I probably forget if they didn’t mention.  This works for everyone in One Piece. Any character play a part and purposes, they’re not just an in and out character. Once their in, they never out. I never expected, Norman the Liar (I’m not sure it was the name, to lazy to look up), the person who found Jaya island will be brought back again in Dressrosa. I think everything is connected. The awesome thing is, the hint is all over but we cannot see the whole picture before Oda sensei lets us.

Oh, I also read something like “there’s no one died in One Piece but Naruto is more real, since people died there”. I just can’t with this reasoning. Since when dead people count make this work better than that works? I don’t know bout other people but every time Luffy defeat the bad guy, never once I thought, he defeat them to dead. So seeing the defeated guy in a later arc, isn’t really surprise me honestly. And some even stated that Oda kills off Ace and White Beard to show that characters died in One Piece to. I mean seriously, do some people (if they actually read One Piece from the start till now) actually think Oda would kill off awesome character for that trivial reason. As far as know, character who still live in One Piece universe till now, still has a part play and those who died, their dead that play a part to story. For Ace to realize that a lot of people care for him, will die to save/protect him. For Luffy to make him stronger and as for White Beard, we see Black Beard to start his ere as being a yonkou.

And for the emotional story. Which some of manga lover stated One Piece has nothing. I cry more for One Piece than Naruto. I think I only shed tears on Jiraiya and Itachi’s dead (which is useless for the letter since they bring him from death – people like him the most) So, once again, I dare to say that people who claim this, seriously only read One Piece halfway or only watch the cut on youtube. I cry almost on everyone’s flashback. most of time the story is just about the same injustice story but it never fails to make me shed tear nevertheless. In the latest arc, when I though I got used to it, it still sad reading Corazon’s story. I mean, come on, when Robin said she wants to live, during Going Marry funeral, Usop depart and comeback to the crew, when Kuma separate the crew in Seabody, Ace’s death, etc. In my opinion, One Piece still owned this.
Ah, one more thing, which become my favorite in One Piece that (IN MY OPINION) still lack on Naruto. The friendship. Please argue with me on this matter. The bond between Luffy and his crew mate, the other character, heck even with the enemy, FOR ME, is a lot more stronger than thus Naruto with Sasuke and the other. In One Piece, every bonds is mutual. (a captain for the crew, vice versa). In Naruto everyone seems so One Sided. Sasuke —-> itachi/hatred/revenge. Sakura —–> Sasuke. Hinata/every good guy —-> Naruto —-> Sasuke = Hokage. I got fed up when this shown to much. Heck, often I even joke that they should change the tittle from ‘Naruto’ to ‘Sasuke’ (and ‘Bleach’ to “The Ultimate Ichigo’ lol where that come from). I love it when all rookie 9 (Shikamaru and the other) was so into protecting Naruto because it shows that among all, Naruto has finally worth that he actually made people likes him but he just all gung ho on Sasuke. I can totally see NaruSasu in yaoi but but the closer the bond in One Piece I can’t never picture them in yaoi or shoujo frame. Respect, loyalty, compassion, love, care, justice, love, are stronger in One Piece, in my opinion. Naruto has all these things too of course, it’s just Naruto —-> Sasuke overshadowed any other possible strong friendsippy. Like the one with Sai. After introducing as some one with problem of making real friend that finally what it means to have friend through Naruto, problem arises, I barely notice him even though he’s there.

But, there still one thing that Naruto has best than One Piece. The fights. It doesn’t mean One Piece fighting scene is bad. Not at all. It’s just I think, the fighting strategy in Naruto often make me awe like “wow, he actually think that way”. In One Piece, the character usually more powered up in strength. Haki was just cool for me.

For the art part, it’s actually relative. I like it, you might not. For these two mangas, I have no problem with both. So for conclusion, One Piece definitely has the best story telling/plot. Naruto might come in second. Mmm, no. I’ll put Hunter x Hunter right below One Piece, Hikaru no Go (it’s still shonen though, hehe), FMA (minus the last part), Samurai X, Gintama, Eureka 7, and etc (I seriously don’t know where to put Naruto and Bleach)

Well, I’m tired, so I think that’s all for now. Thank you for reading🙂

 

What Do You Think?

